Within the rich economic, social and cultural diversity of its 47 member states, the Council of Europe focuses on safeguarding and promoting human rights, democracy and the rule of law. The Council of Europe Museum Prize has been awarded annually since 1977, by the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, based on the recommendations of the EMYA jury.


The Council of Europe Museum Prize is awarded to a museum that has contributed significantly to upholding human rights and democratic citizenship, to broadening knowledge and understanding of contemporary societal issues, and to bridging cultures by encouraging inter-cultural dialogue or overcoming social and political borders. The Prize aims to highlight Europe’s diverse cultural heritage and the interplay between local and European identities.

2023: The Workers Museum, Copenhagen, Denmark

Read more

The Workers Museum, 2023 Winner of the Council of Europe Museum Prize

Assembly hall: The main assembly hall is the heart of the Workers' Assembly building from 1879 and is now completely renovated. (c) The Workers Museum / Photo by Søren Hytting

For more information: EMYA2023 Winners Brochure


2022: Nano Nagle Place, Cork, Ireland

Read more

Nano Nagle Place, 2022 Winner of the Council of Europe Museum Prize


2021: GULAG History Museum Moscow, Russia

Read more

2020: National Museum of Secret Surveillance "House of Leaves" Triana, Albania

Read more

2019: Museum of Communication
Bern, Switzerland

2018: War Childhood Museum 
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

See video contributions and interviews on EMF Youtube channel.

2017: Caribbean Centre of Expressions and Memory of the Slave Trade and Slavery
Guadeloupe (France)

2016: The European Solidarity Centre
Gdańsk, Poland

2015: MUCEM
Marseille, France

2014: Baksı Müzesi
Bayburt, Turkey

2013: Museum of Liverpool
Liverpool, United-Kingdom

2012: Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum
Cologne, Germany

2010: Portimão Museum
Algarve, Portugal

2009: Zeeuws Museum
Middelburg, Netherlands

2008: Svalbard Museum
Longyearbyen, Norway

2007: International Museum of the Reformation
Geneva, Switzerland

2006: Churchill Museum
London, United Kingdom

2005: Museum of Byzantine Culture
Thessaloniki, Greece

2004: Museum of Health Care
Edirne, Turkey

2003: Latenium
Hauterive, Switzerland

2002: Buddenbrookhaus
Lübeck, Germany

2001: Helsinki Theatre Museum
Helsinki, Finland

2000: In Flanders Fields
Ieper/Ypres, Belgium

1999 : Palais des beaux Arts
Lille, France

1998: Museum Centre on Strelka
Krasnoyarsk, Russia

1997: Children's Museum, Tropical Museum
Amsterdam, Netherlands

1996: MAK-Austrian Museum of Applied Arts
Vienna, Austria

1995: House of History of the Federal Republic of Germany
Bonn, Germany

1994: Provincial Museum of Lapland
Rovaniemi, Finland

1993: Kobarid Museum
Kobarid, Slovenia

1993: Archaeological Museum of Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey

1992: Argenta Marsh Museum
Argenta, Italy

1991: German Salt Museum
Lüneburg, Germany

1990: Manuel da Maia Museum of Water
Lisbon, Portugal

1989: Jewish Historical Museum
Amsterdam, Netherlands

1988: The Bavarian National Museum
Munich, Germany

1988: Museum of the Convent of Descalzas Reales
Madrid, Spain

1987: Heimatmuseum-Neukölln Museum
Berlin, Germany

1984: Living Museum of the Canal du Centre
Thieu, Belgium

1984: The Boat Museum
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom

1983: Joanneum - The Provincial Museum of Styria
Graz, Austria

1982: Åland Museum
Mariehamn, Finland

1981: Music Museum
Stockholm, Sweden

1980: Monaghan County Museum
Monaghan, Ireland

1979: Municipal Museum
Rüsselsheim, Germany

1978: Bryggens Museum
Bergen, Norway

1977: Joan Miró Foundation
Barcelona, Spain

For more information click the link below: